Tools That Have Helped Me Reach My Goals: Breastfeeding Cafe Blog Carnival Day 5

breastfeedingblogcarnival5Today’s topic is Tools That Have Helped Me Reach My Goals.  If you’re interested in reading my previous Breastfeeding Carnival posts please check out my homeschooling blog here.

In previous posts on similar topics I have talked about how without the forbidden nipple shield (I say this because so many are VERY against nipple shields) I would not have been able to breastfeed my first son at all.  I think the most powerful tool though that has helped me was having a support network as well as making sure to keep lots of snacks and water handy to keep me going.

cucumber-78789_1280

At a breastfeeding support meeting that I planned one month I brought a big bag of things that help with breastfeeding (or pictures of the ones too big to put in the bag).  The poor mom that pulled one in particular out was SO confused.  It was a glass leftovers container with a lid.  In reality, this is my most used breastfeeding tool.  I love to cut up fruits, cheese, ingredients to throw on a salad, and put leftovers in individual portion sizes, as well as other snacks in these containers so I can just pull one out and have something to eat really fast.  With three children now it’s still hard to get a meal on the table at a specified time so preparing things when everyone is quiet and tummies are full is much easier than when everyone is snacky, angry, or hungry.

My other very important tool that has helped me through every struggle is a strong breastfeeding support network.  This not only includes breastfeeding support groups and trained breastfeeding supporters but also breastfeeding friendly family members, doctors (this one is especially important when you have a medical concern rather than getting bad or outdated advice), and friends.  It’s nice to know who you can call when you’re struggling because even trained breastfeeding supporters need support during difficult times.  It’s also helpful to have friends and family that tell you to keep up the good work and remind you that you CAN get through it.  It’s also wonderful to be a friend back to other breastfeeding mothers, we all need support even on good days.

I know these are both non-traditional tools that have helped me breastfeed my babies but they have been very important over my many years of breastfeeding my three babies.  I hope some of you find these ideas helpful as well.

You can find information about the Breastfeeding Cafe Blog Carnival here.  Here’s a link back to today’s post on the Breastfeeding Cafe’s blog.

What tools have helped you reach your breastfeeding goals?

About Ashley Barrett

I'm a Lactation Educator, Certified Babywearing Educator, student lactation consultant, and homeschooling mother of 3 children and wife of 10 years.
This entry was posted in Blog Carnival, Breastfeeding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tools That Have Helped Me Reach My Goals: Breastfeeding Cafe Blog Carnival Day 5

  1. Pingback: What has helped you reach your breastfeeding goals? | the BREASTFEEDING CAFE

  2. Pingback: Tools That Have Helped Me Reach My Goals: Breastfeeding Cafe Blog Carnival Day 5 | Nurturing Bonds

Leave a Reply

